Tenth and Life Lessons

Welcome to the tenth edition of Beyond Volunteering and what could be one of the last. With the end of my placement  fast approaching, I’m trying to decide which way to take the blog. Do I continue the journey towards teaching or do I create sometime new entirely. One of the lessons learnt from my placement was direction. The ability to move forward with someone or something. Whether thats finishing a film or just starting one, the direction you head in is an important one. Working at PSC has provided me with a form of direction teaching the importance of life skills and lessons. I guess you could call it an irony with a future teacher being taught something?  Standing back from the bigger picture can sometimes seem daunting, when your not able to see the outcome of a situation. For example, I never knew my placement would be extended through to March. The importance of foresight is a skill I do not possess. Nor do you possess. (Unless you’ve been hiding this from me all along.)

Me @ Freshers Fayre 2011

I never saw this coming!

I never saw myself at Freshers Fayre 2011 promoting Film Society before the event took place. Maybe leading up towards it as we prepare the promo material and stall. My point reflects the inability to sense the direction you are heading towards. Anything could happen? I didn’t see myself stepping down as Chair just a few months later due to work commitments. Direction is an unfair beast. With PSC, having my placement extended was an awesome experience and one that I didn’t expect. Working with the students on there projects is an enriching experience and one which I hope to repeat one day. Life Lessons are a part of the wider picture. We will never stop learning as long as theres something new to learn. I’ve learnt so many life lessons from PSC, from patience through to team communication. These are all skills that I can bring across to other areas in my life.

The tenth post on my blog doesn’t really have any bells or whistles. It’s a ‘pure post’ detailing the lack of foresight we all possess and the approach towards it. We shouldn’t be scared of the direction we’re heading. I guess we should embrace it, talk about it and laugh at it. I never saw myself becoming a teacher until 9 months ago. Direction is a strange occurance that we’re all following. Maybe it’s time to take a different path and head in a new direction.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

