The Overview

Those who are new to the blog might not understand the title ‘Beyond Volunteering.’ Even though I’ll be continuing the blog after my module, this blog is a journey from now to infinity and beyond. Hence the title. It will track my progress from my 2nd year placement at PSC towards my job with EF this summer and beyond. Who knows were we will end up? Prehaps I should provide a little overview of my placement and what I’ve been up to. Heres a little extract from my prospectus I’m writing:

The Overview

“Peter Symonds College is an A-Level based institution dealing with Post-16 students from a variety of backgrounds. The College deals in various qualifications offering the students the choice of Academic studies to practical experiences. Whilst its focus is mainly on the sciences and other technical courses, the intuition also houses varying Arts based qualifications. The College prides itself on delivering an unbeatable student experience as well as astounding results. Peter Symonds boasts a 99.3% pass rate with results divided into sub categories per subject. These subcategories are divided into AS and AS2. With AS2 having a higher success rate over AS. My placement involved working with both groups of students within the Faculty of Arts. This would involve working within the Film and Media Studies department on a variety of projects. My role would involve aiding the students understanding of Adobe Premier and related programmes. As advisor I would inform students on technical acquisition of skills and communicating a specific style or genre connotation. Even though the placement is advisory based, it would provide me with the necessary foundations to pursue a career into teaching.”

Just a little extract from my prospectus I’m writing for the module. A small overview of the institution I’m working for. I’ve got to be honest, the writing style for this is a lot more formal. Rather than the informal nature of the blog. I thought it might give you guys a little insight into the College and what  I was doing. I’m loving the placement and hope it carrys on well into March. I’ve got two more dates sets for the end of next week so I’ll update the blog with more info about that. For more on my past exploits at PSC feel free to check out my other posts.

Until next time, I’d like to leave you with a few thoughts. Have you ever thought about ‘What could have been?’ or ‘Things could have been different?’ I’ll be writing about the past… again. But this time, detailing the ‘Wrong Path towards Uni.’ Another retrospective about the decision I took which lead me to were I am today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

